A credential proves who you are and establishes if you are authorised to use a particular piece of software or access a particular website.


Traditionally, credentials have been established through a User ID (or username) and a password. Digital certificates now provide more effective security and are required for many of the transactions you can access through the Government Gateway.

Level 0

- No credential is required.

For example, for sites which contain information only.

Level 1

- A User ID and password is required.

Level 1 transactions include the Inland Revenue's PAYE Internet Services and Internet Service for Self Assessment.

Levels 2 and 3

- A digital certificate is required.

Level 2 and 3 transactions include HM Customs and Excise's Electronic VAT Returns and DEFRA's IACS Area Aid Applications.